Types of depression according to the American classification DSM-VI

In the United States, psychiatrists distinguish three types of depression: major (major) depression, depressive disorder, and dysthymia.

Major depression is characterized by severe manifestations of depression:

  • depressed mood;
  • decreased interest in life;
  • loss-gain in weight; 
  • insomnia, or hypersomnia ;
  • decrease in psychomotor agitation;
  • tiredness
  • feeling of uselessness;
  • feeling of guilt;
  • cognitive impairment;
  • indecision;
  • suicidal actions /

Duration of symptoms is 2 weeks.

Dysthymia is characterized by:

  • decreased mood for 2 years; 
  • overeating, decreased appetite;
  • fatigue;
  • low self-esteem;
  • difficulty making a decision;
  • hopelessness.
  • Depressive disorder can present with seasonal affective disorder, depression associated with menopause, and diurnal mood swings. 

Seasonal affective depression (SAD) is also called the evening blues, sun withdrawal syndrome 

       These types of depression require different treatment approaches .  

Leave a Reply